Old blanket box refurbishment.

So I can’t seem to locate my ‘before’ picture on Joel’s camera but my blanket box looked basically like this one I just spotted on e-bay.

m7dNlBesU6eV_LqPErvYpFQ

I decided to move the box from the boys’ bedroom to the kitchen but there was way too much pine in the kitchen for it to look right so I decided to give it a make over.

I painted it with a couple of coats of Annie Sloan Chalk paint (old ochre) and Paul gave it a coat ofย  wax.ย  I then covered it with a layer of foam so we could sit on it more comfortably when we have a crowd in and chose a bright material for the top.

Here is the finished product, we’re really pleased with how it turned out ๐Ÿ™‚

 

(Click on the photo to see a larger image)

photo 3

photo 4

I’m going to make a few cushions to prop along the wall in a contrasting material but am waiting to see what material is left after I make my blinds.ย  All a work in progress!!

4 thoughts on “Old blanket box refurbishment.

  1. WOW!! It’s turned out fabulous!! I think the colour of the box compliments the fabric so well. What adorable fabric. I love how the cushion has that “wave” in it, it adds that extra touch. To get the fabric smooth around that shape would seem difficult for me. You nailed it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can just picture various pillows arranged on top. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It’s lovely Elaine x well done. The fabric is beautiful and will look great in blinds and cushions x if you run out of fabric just make cushions in a nice contrasting gingham. Just love a good project x

  3. Aw thanks ladies, I’m glad you professionals like it! I have a contrasting fabric that is stripes that I’m making the blinds with but I’m with you Michele I LOVE gingham!

Leave a Reply

