Daddymac’s all time favourite….

recipe-round-upjpg.jpg

 

Can I just say that is how we spell favourite here πŸ™‚ and for all those dropping by from Pensive’s blog or Rebecca’s blog, you are most welcome.

The theme for this months recipe round-up is Snackalicious Super Dishes and is being hosted by Pensive who has combined the whole thing with a cook-book giveaway over at her blog. Be sure to check out all the other dishes being served up in the name of good blogging.

As you can see this is the one I make if I need to impress Daddymac…..

A really hand recipe as you just throw it all in the bowl and then throw it in the oven!

Oven-Baked Barbecue Chilli

 

2lb (900gm) lean stewing beef in cubes

4 cloves garlic, pressed

2 onions, coarsely chopped

2 green peppers, seeded and diced

2 cans (420g each) red kidney beans rinsed and drained

2 cans (420g each) chopped tomatoes, undrained

225ml (8fl oz) passata

175ml (6floz) barbecue sauce

2 tablespoons cider vinegar

2 tablespoons hot or mild chilli powder

Cheddar cheese, soured cream and sliced spring onions, to serve (optional)

Prehead oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4. Trim and discard any visible fat from meat, cut meant into 1cm cubes and place in ovenproof bowl. Press garlic over meat, coarsely chop onions and dice green peppers. Add onions, green peppers, beans, tomatoes, passata, barbecue sauce, vinegar and chilli powder to baking bowl; mix well.

Cover bowl and bake about 2 1/2 hours or until mean is tender; stirring twice during cooking time. Serve with toppings if desired. Serves 8-12

I normally double up this recipe and freeze the leftovers πŸ™‚

supersnackssmall_21thumbnail.jpg

Let me know if you try it.

Mummymac.

While you’re here be sure to read this post about a giveaway I’m hosting here on Monday.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Daddymac’s all time favourite….

  1. Now that does sound nice. My problem is I don’t normally have time when I get home from work to try dishes with long cooking times. I must squirrel this away to try on a weekend in Winter (which is months away here). Thanks!

  2. Janus – It’s basically sieved tomatoes, you can get it in Sainsburys and Tesco and I’ve also noticed it in Vivo!!

    Kim – I thought you might πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve never made chili with beans in it (being from Texas), but this sounds good. I’m intrigued by the fact that it’s baked. I’m gonna try it!

  4. A baked chili? Sounds so EASY! And because my husband is tired of my OLD recipe, he’s gonna love these new versions of a staple in our home during the cold, winter months.

    It’s amusing to me that we’re learning new food items from this Carnival; I didn’t expect that. I didn’t know what passata was either, and you weren’t familiar with canned biscuits.

    Thanks for joining in and spreading the word for both “Recipe Round Up” and “Snackalicious”!

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

