Beef Curry

I get asked for this recipe so much, it’s just easier to put on here and refer folks to it, so here goes :

Beef Curry

1 1/2 lb stewing steak cubed

2 tablespoons curry powder and 2 tablespoons plain flour mixed

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 large cooking apple, peeled, cored and diced

2 large onions, peeled and sliced

1 pint of beef stock

salt and pepper

2 tablespoons mango chutney

2 oz sultanas

1 tin of tomatoes chopped.

1 tablespoon lemon juice.

Method.

Coat meat in seasoned flour, fry in vegetable oil until lightly browned, then place in large casserole dish. Fry apple and onion until soft. Stir in stock and bring to the boil. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for five minutes. Pour over meat in casserole dish and cover.

Cook in preheated oven at 180C and cook for 3 hours.

Next time I make it I’ll try to remember to up-load a picture but it just looks like Beef Curry really ๐Ÿ˜‰

Enjoy

Mummymac.

23 thoughts on “Beef Curry

  1. I’m intrigued. This is nothing like any of my beef recipes.

    I forget what a sultana is. . .help!

    How do you serve it? Is it a stew? Over rice? Noodles? Just as is?

    I really need a picture.

    Because I’m going to make it.

  2. Janus – no problem I’ll be round in about 4 hours time ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Kim – a Sultana is a dried grape, I think it is a sweeter variety than a raisin would be but if you can’t get them I’m sure a raisin would be your next best option.

    Definitely served over rice with some Naan Bread.

  3. I do both Ann.

    I can normally find it on the reduced bread isle as it’s mustn’t be all that popular here.

    I also make it in a bread maker – I’ll post the recipe later ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Would it be okay without the mango chutney? I have no idea where to get that. I do have sultanas though!! Use them all the time.

    I’m getting groceries this morning. Think I might just try this recipe out.

  5. Does anyone know is Mango Chutney a UK thing?

    This is the one I use

    Kim: – I’m just not sure to be honest, the mango chutney gives it a real edge, more authentic Indian I think?

    Any ideas N – would some chopped mango be better than nothing?

  6. chopped mango – mmmm.
    Perhaps any sweet chutney would be a better subsitute. There is one I have seen used in an American recipe…I think it’s Mrs somebody’s victorian chutney. As long as the chutney is sweet and a sticky consistency as this in turn gives the curry a good consistency.

  7. My Beef Curry is in the oven. . .smells heavenly!

    I had to go to our local international grocery store to find mango chutney. Took some time to locate it but I am glad I took the time and didn’t just give up and use a substitute. Wow! Is that stuff HOT!!

    I’m taking photos and will post pictures tomorrow and link back here.

    We haven’t had a lot of Indian food (based on my many questions, I guess that’s not much of a surprise. . .)

    Youngest son is suspicious about beef and onions and apples together. But he admits it smells good!

  8. Kim: Youngest son sounds like my husband who doesn’t “get” sandwiches like Chicken and Peach!! You can assure him I don’t put Beef, onions and apples in any other recipe, honest!

    By the time it’s ready no-one will know their is apples in it!!

    I’m not so sure that our mango chutney is “hot” but I guess if you’re not used to it, it may seem hot ๐Ÿ™‚

    in anticipation…..

  9. I’m excited to see this recipe. We love curry–spent a little time in India, and a year and a half in Nepal. We used to eat curry with tears rolling down our cheeks. I’ve made naan, but not in a bread machine. I’ll be back to check out that recipe.

  10. Hi Elaine,
    Just wanted to add my voice. Your beef curry recipe is a big favourite in this house. Anyone else I make it for heads home with the recipe. We just love it! Thanks for sharing…..any more fab recipes greatly received!

  11. I was looking for a curry recipe that I used to make in England 40 years ago with apples and sultanas. Finally found one that sounds very much like it. This was my first try looking for it. I remember the Vesta curries too, not quite like homemade. Now living in the country in Virginia and hungry for good curry. Thanks.

  12. Hi there everyone.
    I wonder of any of you would be able to help me.
    When I was a kid at school in England (some 40 years ago) we suffered with the awful school dinners, but one that always went down very well with everyone was a beef curry, and I’d love to know how to make it (‘cos it’s only one I’ve ever liked). Unfortunately all I can tell you is that is had meat in it, sultanas, and a very watery brown sauce.
    Many thanks to you all for any help you can give.
    (It’s so refreshingly pleasant to go onto a website where everyone’s feedback is meant to help another person, rather than cuss them off in some surly and aggressive manner).

  13. Hi Tony, thanks for you kind comments about my almost redundant blog ๐Ÿ™‚ The above recipe comes from quite an old traditional Irish cookbook so I reckon it could be something very similar you had at school. I’m wondering if given there being a greater time restriction in cooking in schools that the above recipe or something similar was probably done on the stove top instead of the oven for so long. I know I’ve certainly tried this recipe in the slow cooker and it makes for a sauce that’s more a ‘watery’ consistency as opposed to the thick one the oven baked recipe results in.

    If you try it that way be sure to give us a report!

    1. Thanks, Elaine!
      Hi Elaine,
      (very impressed with the promptness of your reply)
      I’ve just had a minor op on my arm, but as soon as it’s all better I’ll give the recipe a go!
      Thank you again, that’s brilliant – can’t wait to try it!
      Best regards,
      Tony
      Merry Christmas to you all!

  14. Making your recipe again today for the dozenth time! We love it! I lost the recipe when my computer died. So glad it’s still here for the searching! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

