Farmhouse Vegetable Soup

recipe-round-upjpg.jpg This month’s recipe roundup is hosted by Melanie at Motherhood Apologia and the theme is freezer recipes.

You could say this theme is like a red rag to a bull as I double-up and freeze almost every meal I make. Some would call me organized but I think of myself more as lazy, wouldn’t you rather make a meal once than twice?

Anyway as I refuse to sit all night and type in a host of recipes I freeze I have chosen just one which was given to me by a friend.

Farmhouse Vegetable Soup

(Give to me by a Farmers wife – so it is authentic πŸ˜‰ )

This is a good soup to freeze as if you don’t like your soup thick you can add more water to it when you are re-heating it. Personally I’m a thick person πŸ˜‰

1 cup of soup mix
2 stock cubes
6-8 carrots
6-8 stocks of celery
6-8 small leeks or 4 large leeks
parsley

And that’s all she gave me!! – She didn’t tell me what to do!! She obviously didn’t know I’m the type who follows a recipe to a T.

Regardless I just chop it all up, stick it all in the saucepan, cover it with water and simmer it as low and long as you can.

Hope it works!

Don’t forget to check out the rest of this months recipes.

Mummymac

4 thoughts on “Farmhouse Vegetable Soup

  1. Love that she only gave you the ingredient portion! This sounds wonderful and with fall in the air – soups are what I crave with nice chunk of bread oh yeah and butter! πŸ™‚

  2. Ya know? I’ve never cooked with leeks, either. I always use onions. Have you ever added meat to this?

    I think you’re pretty doggone smart to double ’bout everything you make…I need to take a note out of YOUR book!

    (slow to get around to Recipe Round-ups…trying to make up for lost time πŸ™‚ ).

Leave a Reply

