From a big pile of laundry to a big pile of books…

images-11.jpgAnd so the new books for our Reading Roundabout were give out on Thursday night.You can read more about our Reading Roundabout here, and here.

This is our second year of reading and now that the books are in circulation I thought I would list the books on here so you can see what I and the ladies at church will be reading over the next year.

Remember it’s 12 ladies, 12 books and 12 months.

The Afternoon of Life by Elyse Fitzpatrick.

Hudson Taylor & Maria by John Pollock

Age of Opportunity by Paul D Tripp

The Martyr of the Catacombs

Following the Shepherd by Peter Jeffrey

Singing in the Fire by Faith Cook

Sickness and Death in the Christian Family by Peter Jeffery

Let’s Roll by Lisa Beamer

A song for all Seasons by Wilma Sullivan

First Love by John MacArthur

Learning to be Happy by Jeremiah Burroughs

The Glad Surrender by Elisabeth Elliott.

Have you read any of them? Please let me/us know.

I have read only 3 of them so I’m looking forward to getting into the rest over the coming year. Please understand the idea of our Roundabout is mostly to encourage reading and then to encourage reading good books.

I know a couple of the books only just fall into the “Christian Faith” category.This works for us, it may work for you in your church too. Since we started this I have also heard of another church starting one for their teens.

Great idea to keep the younger folks reading. I personally think the men in our church should start one but hey I’m not trying to start a riot here!

If you would like any information about commencing a Reading Roundabout in your church or group feel free to leave a comment and I’ll get back to you with the hints and tips we have learned on the way.

Don’t leave them sitting on the shelf 🙂

Mummymac.

7 thoughts on “From a big pile of laundry to a big pile of books…

  1. At the Tab they started a ‘read for the Lord’ programme. However the books were all spiritual ones. It was a list rather than a reading group. I have not read any of those books. Do you have to buy them all yourselves?

  2. To be fair these books probably are all spiritual but I’m just saying they aren’t all reformed 😉

    We don’t buy any of them, we use the Church library and our own library here at home but this year I have bought 3 new books and have asked the ladies to cover the cost by donating £2.00.

    When we have finished this years roundabout the 3 new books will go into the church library.

    Reading lists are a good idea too – I think we just wanted something that was more like to motivate us to read the books ie, the fact that you have to pass the book on at the end of the month.

  3. Annette

    It really doesn’t take so much work to organise – the main problem is probably just deciding on the books, I normally use books others have recommended.

    I have sent you more details separately.

Leave a Reply

