Cooking & Camping…

It’s Wednesday again and over at Shannon’s it’s Works-for-me-Wednesday time again.wfmwheader_162.jpg

Be warned …….. I’m looking for some help ladies………………………..

To-day I’ve got a couple of tips for cooking while camping and I’ve also included a recipe for good measure.

The theme is absolutely nothing to do with the fact we’re heading on a camping trip in just over a weeks time and that’s what’s on my mind…………………………. well ok then that’s not entirely true 🙂

The best way to have an enjoyable holiday is to plan all the meals before you go. Most people keep a meal planner anyway so this isn’t anything new. You’re going to have more time to enjoy your holiday if you meals are all planned in advance.

As well as doing this I also take tiny zip-lock bags with many ingredients already measured out and labelled.

Eg. For a Curry recipe I will have the spices all in a bag with the flour. These are all added at the same time in the recipe so it saves you carrying loads of jars of spices with you. I also weigh out portions of rice and pasta for those dishes, to save me taking big boxes and packets with me.

This recipe is ideal for camping as you only use one saucepan:

Chicken & Basmati Rice

2-3 Chicken fillets chopped finely

100mls olive oil,

1 carrot chopped finely

1 tin tomatoes

1 onion chopped

2 chicken stock cubes

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon hot chilli powder

Salt

Basmati Rice.

Heat the olive oil in saucepan, add the onion and spices, salt and chicken stock cube. (Have spices pre-measured salt and combined with 2 stock cubes in a zip-lock bag). Add the chicken and cook, gradually add the tomatoes and the chopped carrots. Allow carrots and chicken to cook then add the rice and some water. When the rice is cooked the dish is ready. This is lovely served with some crusty loaf.

(We like to add more spices to make it hotter but that’s to your own taste).

Time is running out and I haven’t all nights accounted for in my meal planner yet!! – (We will have two gas rings and a grill).
I’d love you to share any camping tips or recipes you have……

Mummymac.

14 thoughts on “Cooking & Camping…

  1. Well orgnized for camping trip .. i can’t do this .. i think because i am lazy… my trip go like this :
    1- For food : go buy from MacDonalds
    2- For snacks: any gas station ..
    all my trip stands on these two things …

    you are really have fun in your camping trips .. i am gonna try it like this, but when i get a girl 🙂

    nice blog .. best regards

  2. OK – so I knew someone would mention McDonalds or KFC in the comments.

    I should have mentioned – the trip has to be as frugal as possible that’s why the “gas/
    filling” stations are out but there may be the odd Big Mac – I mean it wouldn’t be a
    holiday otherwise.

    Mama Pajama – you haven’t saw the number of tins I have stashed away 😉

  3. Wow- that is well and truly organised! I have not been camping since I was a girl guide and although we keep talking about it, we have not yet bought any kit…..and I think I’ll wait til I’m not pregnant or nursing or potty training………but I’ll get there one day 🙂 Have a lovely time.

  4. Ellen – I read Rebecca’s blog so I have that one!! – thanks.

    Twithhoney – that link to the scout recipe site is just the sort of thing I’m looking for thanks.

    Susanna – where you live and with the kids not at school age yet – I would recommend the
    type of holiday I wrote about here

    https://homebutnotalone.wordpress.com/2007/07/07/the-big-top/

    We got considerably good deals when we were able to go outside of the summer holiday
    and the good thing is you don’t need all the equipment. No excuses the first year we
    went I was breastfeeding a 9 month old 4 times a night – don’t ask – it’s a whole blog post of
    it’s own 🙂

    Elaine

  5. Ha – I was going to recommend Hobo Dinners (that’s what my husband’s family has called them forever), but it looks like someone beat me to it. On our trip to CO this summer, we used Hamburger patties and tons of veggies – broccolli, cauliflower, bell peppers, as well as all the stuff mentioned. SO yummy!

    When I was a kid, we used to make grilled cheese sandwiches in pie irons – do you have those there? They are square metal forms on sticks; they open and you put the ingredients in, close them up, then put them over the fire. Then after we ate our sandwiches for dinner, we’d us the pie irons to make little pies with buttered bread and cherry pie filling! Hope that doesn’t sound too crazy – really, they were great, I promise!

    Blessings!

  6. I don’t think we have pie irons here – I’ve never heard of them.

    Unfortunately we mostly aren’t allowed open fires in the UK. That restricts
    us to gas rings and BBQ’s.

    We don’t camp rough – we pitch only in recognised sites.

  7. We’re not campers. We never go on vacation.
    But you just gave me a great idea to help one of my sons master cooking.

    I’ll just put all the salt, pepper etc. in one little container he’s allowed to empty completely.
    Later I’ll show him how it’s filled.

    Thanks!!

  8. old standby…. box of mac and cheese, add macaroni and a can of peas to it. relatively inexpensive, and can be left in a slow cooker or cast iron pan on coals for a few hours while you do other things. 🙂

    Otherwise…..crackers and tuna with pickles is a fun lunch.

    Pie irons… make sandwiches in the fire using regular bread stuffs or use pie filling.

    Other camping foods…. chili (like mac and cheese for ease see above)

    Sausages with potatoes and veggies works well to. Dad cooks sausage! 🙂

  9. oops… to the macaroni and cheese one… meant to say.. add cooked meat (we usually do beef, but chicken works too) do whatever…it’s a basic goulash and easy to work with. and peas (or whatever veggie you really want…JUST NOT CABBAGE… that doesn’t work nor does cauliflower…but broccoli is good.)

Leave a Reply

