Covenants

My post the other day triggered some more thoughts about the Covenants.lord-light100.jpg

I learned most of what I know of the Covenants from this man, when he taught a series on them in our church a few years ago. I remember how his teaching seemed to give the Bible more meaning as a whole as he explained the essence of a covenant and the implication of the covenants to our lives today.

I have been considering how that covenants aren’t so popular to-day – people don’t want to commit to an oath bound promise. It seems that even within marriage it is more common to break the promise to “love, honour and obey” than it is to strive with God’s help to keep it.

When I became a member of our church I read the church’s covenant and committed to it. I have often failed in my service but it’s good to have a standard to adhere to. I believe I need to have it before me more often.

I have added our Church Covenant to the links at the top under “Our Church” or you can access it by clicking here.

It’s a struggle every day to keep this covenant but:

God is my strong Salvation;

What foe have I to fear?

In darkness and temptation

My Light, my Help is near.

Though hosts encamp around me,

Firm to the fight I stand;

What terror can confound me,

With God at my right hand?

Place on the Lord reliance,

My soul, with courage wait;

His truth be thine affiance,

When faint and desolate.

His might they heart shall strengthen,

His love thy joy increase;

Mercy they days shall lengthen;

The Lord will give thee peace.

(James Montgomery 1822)

 

Mummymac.

Leave a Reply

